top of page

Inspired by a cinema or theatre billboard

Hi all hope you are all good and well, I've been on a bit of a crafty roll these past few days and have achieved quite a bit. I don't know if its the same for you but sometimes I have so much energy and crafty mo-jo that I could spend all day and night in my craft room ( I do sometimes lol) and then other times I can barely lift a pencil let alone craft ( because of medical reasons) so in my way of thinking its' do as much as you can whilst I can.'

With most of my layouts I have no idea what I'm going to craft until it starts to take shape but on rare occasions I know exactly how I want it to look and this was one of those occasions.

My inspiration came from the 1950's,60's where the cinema, music and theatre were something really special. Advertising was done by way of a bill board saying what was on, when, and who was in it. sadly these were quite bland compared to what advertising were used too as our HD, computers and mobiles were still things of the future. Here's 3 examples and there are 1000's in the web.

Also, since I bought the brother scan n cut last year, I didn't seem to use thicker's much anymore and was building up quite a collection so this type of project would really help me use some up.

The picture I chose was taken in July last year at hubbys birthday BBQ and is of our 3 daughters. I love this picture and they all look so pretty.

I was just waiting for the right inspiration to get it scrapped and today was that day. The colors I chose for the layout were by pure fluke because I really am trying to use up my scraps and I just selected the blue and peach as they complimented each other.The way this page came together is from the center working my way round and out. Cutting each piece, backing it so that it would fit in the designated space. I also used quite a few stamps although I didn't use them all, these were still mounted on either the white or the peach card before going onto foam and being attached to the page.

Finally I added the letters where I wanted them and minimal dots, ephemera and beads to complete the page. I hope you enjoyed my blog spot and that it has inspired you to have a go.

Please do join my face book group and have some scrappy fun every day of the week with some fabulous people.

Chinese whispers update. The first week is over and the 3 teams have already produced some amazing pages, they have passed on their own pages now it gets interesting, stay tuned.


bottom of page